Furious 7 Review

I’m prefacing this article that I was hard core fangirling before seeing this film. The Fast and the Furious is the first film I can remember seeing in theaters (2001). Dude no seriously, I was like 10 years old. Paul Walker was my first ever crush. (And don’t worry, he’s getting his own paragraph later.) 2 Fast 2 Furious came out in 2003 and went to see that one as well. It was lacking of Vin Diesel, but I was still in love.

And then in 2006 we had The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift. And I bet you were all hating. But I loved it. No, that’s for real. I owe the DVD, bought it when it first came out. And I purchased a digital copy. A real fan knows about wabaki. I hold still that it was a good movie! Strange for the Fast and Furious franchise, but it first ignited our love for Han.

But okay, now to the movie review. (And here you thought I was just rambling.) I went to see Furious 7 with my parents on Easter. Not surprisingly, the theater was mostly empty, save for a few lone movie goers. Which it was Easter, movie theaters are not standard on Easter. Unless you’re obsessed with movies like me, and your parents are willing to indulge your favorite hobby (which they always are, BEST PARENTS EVER)!

The film opens introducing our villain, Deckard Shaw. He’s the big brother of Owen Shaw, from Fast and Furious 6. Which, if I’m honest, I preferred Owen Shaw. I’m a serious Luke Evans fan, not so much on Jason Statham. But it didn’t really hinder the viewing pleasure.

Deckard is causing havoc all through the early parts of the film: putting Hobbs (Dwayne “the Rock” Johnson) in the hospital, killing Han (my poor baby, it’s been 9 years but you finally got your funeral!), and blowing up the Toretto house.

This is where we get our Tokyo Drift scene! Twinkie (Lil’ Bow Wow) and Sean, the new DK (drift king)! This was actually the exact scene from the 2006 film. I was flipping out. Flipping out. IT WAS GREAT. Okay, moving on. It was only like 3 minutes of the film. But definitely one of my favorite parts.

And then enter Mr. Nobody (Kurt Russell), who is kind of a replacement for Hobbs since he’d laid up in a hospital bed. He sends Dom and his team on a nearly impossible mission to save Ramsey from the evil clutches of Jakande (Djimon Hounsou). Who plays an excellent villain, much better than Jason Statham, in my opinion.

To get Ramsey, Furious 7 invents a new sport “skydriving” (a term which I did not come up with sadly). Five cars dropped from an airplane onto a “secure” road! But it’s a great scene, filled with action and jokes at Roman’s (Tyrese Gisbson) expense. It was bigger and better than any stunts than we’ve seen in the franchise. BRAVO!

And yet, it’s not even the most daring. We’re quickly off to Abu Dhabi. This movie actually takes place in three different countries! Which made for really great filming. In Abu Dhabi we have a lot of fighting and then THE BIG ACTION SCENE!

“CARS DO NOT FLY!”

But in this movie, they do and they go through three towers before crashing down to the ground. This was exhilarating, exciting, and very very fast and furious. And it leads us into the final showdown in LA, the city where it all begin.

“One Last Ride.”

They say to each other as the showdown begins. They are a few different battles going on, flipping between all our favorite characters (including Hobbs!) and our new villains. I was on the edge of my seat (a lot of that had to do with Brian O’Connor), but all of the gang ended up making it through!

Letty got her memories back and we learned that she was indeed Mrs. Alpha (a twist I was 100% behind!) And then it all came down to that final scene, with the gang watching Brian, Mia, and they’re son playing in the surf.

This is my paragraph on Paul Walker: my first celebrity crush, the only reason I’ve ever cried at a Fast and Furious film, and the reason this movie became my favorite film in this franchise. He made this series what it is with his best friend, Vin Diesel. Watch the music video and try not to cry, I dare you (side note: it’s impossible).

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6iw9nITBZQ

This film ends with Dom driving away without saving goodbye, his narration over his driving. Brian drives up next to him, saying he couldn’t just leave without saying goodbye. Seriously, I was bawling at this point. Action movies aren’t supposed to make you cry. But hearing Vin Diesel give the speech below, how could you not? Especially knowing that he truly had lost his best friend…

“I used to say that I lived my life a quarter mile at a time. And I think that’s why we were brothers, because you did too. No matter where you are, whether it’s a quarter mile away or halfway across the world, you’ll always be with me. And you’ll always be my brother.”

Whether the franchise is over or not, this was the send-off that Paul deserved. It moved the audience to tears, including the grown men. It had me crying like a child. I think normally I would have given this movie seven stars, but that last scene and the thought that this might really be over makes me up it 8.5 out of 10 stars. I highly recommend you see this. And bring tissues. The movie ends with one dedication.

For Paul.

One comment

Leave a Reply

