My Top Ten: TV couples

Wait. Stop laughing. This is a real ranking that I’m doing. And it’s not just my favorite TV shows. Because that list is STILL not done. That’s proving to far more difficult than expected. But this is just my top ten favorite TV couples of all time. Because I’m really digging these top ten lists and because I’m in the “ship” game. Also, this took way more time than I want to admit to create, because I clearly have no life. Enjoy!

10. Logan Huntzberger and Rory Gilmore, Gilmore Girls

“You jump, I jump, Jack.”

I realize the revival was not everything I hoped it to be. Rory was so far out of character that it was cringe worthy sometimes. But baring the whole fact that Logan was engaged to someone else (which I also didn’t by AT ALL), they were good together. I mean, I fully believe that if you’re still sometimes living with and dating your college boyfriend (WHO ALREADY PROPOSED ONCE), that they would be engaged or in a committed relationship again. But whatever. I adored these two together. I always felt like they made each other better. (And I really hoped they would be more put together at 32, but don’t mind me.) Regardless, I still love them.

rogan

9. Barry Allen and Iris West, The Flash

“Every time I falter or make a mistake, the thought of you is what picks me up and keeps me going.”

I have to admit, I was not always in the WestAllen (that’s what people call this couple) game. Season 1 was not fair to Iris. BUT the writing has gotten so much better for her character. And together, these two are perfection. Some comic book couples are just too epic not to be together. And honestly, the whole West family is pretty great. (Don’t get me started on my epic love for Kid Flash). But this relationship is a nice solid foundation for the series and it’s working really well for the show. Plus they just got engaged!

westallen

8. Schmidt and Cece, New Girl

“Girl, I’mma marry you.”

I mean, from day one, you were rooting for the very odd guy to get the girl. The show is a little all over and completely strange at times, but this couple is completely adorable 100% of the time. So supportive and building a beautiful future. I’m just saying, the show better end with a baby. Because there’s just no other ending for these two. What’s not to love?

schmidtcece

7. Brittany Pierce and Santana Lopez, Glee

“I love you. I don’t want to be with Sam or Finn or any of those other guys. I just want you. Please say you love me back. Please.”

Relationships that take place in high school are not the most solid, especially on a teen drama. The characters are almost always bound to date other people and make wild mistakes. It creates drama. But sometimes, the show goes long enough for them to grow, to mature, to blossom into their best selves. And then they can end up together. And this was definitely the case with Brittany and Santana on Glee. Their wedding was as beautiful as they are. (We will not talk about how they shared it with another couple because KURT DID NOT DESERVE BLAINE.) They made each other happy and the best versions of themselves. And that’s what I like to see in my fictional TV couples.

brittana

6. Mark Sloan and Lexie Grey, Grey’s Anatomy

“I can’t breathe. I can’t eat. And I love you. I just, I love you all the time, every minute of every day.”

I know everyone thinks that Mer-Der were the great Grey’s couple. But Derek always annoyed me. I was a much much bigger fan of Lexie and Mark. SIGH. This may be Shondaland’s most tragic event ever. THEY WERE GOING TO GET MARRIED AND BE HAPPY YOU HEAR ME. They were meant for each other. If you ask me, these two were the couple when the series was in its prime. I’m still not over this ending. SPOILER, they die before they can get their happy ending. But at least, the producers knew that without one, we couldn’t have the other. And they die in back-to-back episodes (talk about a devastating finale and premiere). So yeah, I spent the whole time sobbing.

slexie

5. Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood, Shadowhunters

“I always knew I couldn’t have what I wanted. Till you came along.”

MALEC. Um, do I have to say more? This couple has me SO INVESTED. I just want them to be happy and have nothing but good things happen to them. I’ve read the books, so I know that’s not about to happen anytime soon. But that’s the thing with this show; they have built their characters SO MUCH BETTER THAN THE BOOKS. In the books, their relationship was cute. BUT on the TV show, it’s “Stop the wedding, slow motion kiss, theme song” EPIC. And it’s only getting better. And I can’t wait to watch what comes next!

malec2

4. Cory Matthews and Topanga Lawrence-Matthews, Boy Meets World

“I do my thing and you do your thing. You are you and I am I. And in the end, if we end up together, it’s beautiful.”

The couple that defined my childhood? And then they went and got their own spin-off? Where they’re still married and their kids are in high school? THIS is why people want to be like them. Not only did you learn life lessons when they did, but Cory and Topanga showed you how two people could grow up together and stay together.

coreytopanga

3. Glen Rhee and Maggie Greene, The Walking Dead

“I care more about her than I care about me.”

Things I expect on a show about zombies? Murder and mayhem. Things I don’t expect? True love. Maggie and Glen are #apocalypsegoals. Seriously a bad-ass duo. Well, I mean SPOILER here guys, they were. BRB still crying. But if there was ever was a truly great things to come out of this show, it was the love these two shared and how they grew stronger together.

glenmaggie

2. Nathan Scott and Haley James Scott, One Tree Hill

“Always and forever.”

Nobody would have ever predicted that the Jerk High School Basketball Star and Tutor Girl would be one of the greatest romances of all time. But Nathan and Haley’s relationship defined One True Pair (OTP) for me. They had their ups and downs, as any one who gets married at 17 and is still together 17 years later would! But they made it through and were always stronger for it. And I’ll be damned if Jamie Scott was not the cutest, most awesome TV kid ever! And it was so close for the number one spot with these two because I really love them. And honestly, through the seasons, they just got better. Because Lucas Scott might have been the original main character, but Nathan and Haley Scott’s relationship was the foundation of the show for 9 seasons.

naley

1. Eric and Tami Taylor, Friday Night Lights

“I believe in you.”

I mean, this is ultimate #realtionshipgoals right? Greatest TV parents ever! Julie Taylor never really appreciated the great family that she had. Eric and Tami had love, respect, and complete faith in other. I may be biased with how much I loved this show, but there never has been (nor will there ever be) a TV couple so perfect. The end.

eandt

Leave a Reply

